Monday, April 03, 2006


The 2006 Lucille Lortel Award Nominations have been announced...

Outstanding Play:

The Lieutenant of Inishmore
By Martin McDonagh
Producer: Atlantic Theater Company

The Paris Letter
By Jon Robin Baitz
Producer: Roundabout Theatre Company

Red Light Winter
By Adam Rapp
Producer: Scott Rudin/Paramount Pictures, Robyn Goodman, Roger Berlind, and Stuart Thompson

The Ruby Sunrise
By Rinne Groff
Producer: The Public Theater

Outstanding Musical:

Bernarda Alba
Words & Music by Michael John LaChiusa
Producer: Lincoln Center Theater

Grey Gardens
Book by Doug Wright, Music by Scott Frankel, Lyrics by Michael Korie
Producer: Playwrights Horizons

See What I Wanna See
Words & Music by Michael John LaChiusa
Producer: The Public Theater

The Seven
By Will Power
Producer: New York Theatre Workshop

Outstanding Revival:

Abigail’s Party
By Mike Leigh
Producer: The New Group

Celebration and The Room
By Harold Pinter
Producer: Atlantic Theater Company

Funnyhouse of a Negro
By Adrienne Kennedy
Producer: The Classical Theater of Harlem

Mrs. Warren’s Profession
By George Bernard Shaw
Producer: Irish Repertory Theatre

The Trip to Bountiful
By Horton Foote
Producer: Signature Theatre Company

Outstanding Director:

Billie Allen, Funnyhouse of a Negro
Scott Elliott, Abigail’s Party
Scott Ellis, The Little Dog Laughed
Wilson Milam, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
Harris Yulin, The Trip to Bountiful

Outstanding Choreographer:

Michael Berresse, [title of show]
Graciela Daniele, Bernarda Alba
Bill T. Jones, The Seven

Outstanding Lead Actor:

Christopher Denham, Red Light Winter
Conor Donovan, Privilege
John Glover, The Paris Letter
Michael Stuhlbarg, Measure for Pleasure
David Wilmot, The Lieutenant of Inishmore

Outstanding Lead Actress:

Jennifer Jason Leigh, Abigail’s Party
S. Epatha Merkerson, Birdie Blue
Lois Smith, The Trip to Bountiful
Julie White, The Little Dog Laughed
Dianne Wiest, Third

Outstanding Featured Actor:

Charles Durning, Third
Domhnall Gleeson, The Lieutenant of Inishmore
Darren Goldstein, Abigail’s Party
Logan Marshall-Green, Dog Sees God
David Pittu, Celebration and The Room

Outstanding Featured Actress:

Meghan Andrews, The Trip to Bountiful
Helena Carroll, Philadelphia, Here I Come!
Lisa Emery, Abigail’s Party
Hallie Foote, The Trip to Bountiful
Mary Louise Wilson, Grey Gardens

Outstanding Scenic Design:

Beowulf Boritt, The Other Side
David Korins, Swimming in the Shallows
Eugene Lee, The Ruby Sunrise
Derek McLane, Abigail’s Party
Allen Moyer, Grey Gardens

Outstanding Costume Design:

Eric Becker, Abigail’s Party
William Ivey Long, Grey Gardens
Deborah Newhall, The Ruby Sunrise
Martin Pakledinaz, The Trip to Bountiful
Anita Yavich, The Wooden Breeks

Outstanding Lighting Design:

Aaron Black, Funnyhouse of a Negro
Jane Cox, Apparition
John McKernon, The Trip to Bountiful
Stpehen Strawbridge, Bernarda Alba
David Weiner, The Seven

Outstanding Sound Design:

Scott Killian, A Picasso
Brian Ronan, Grey Gardens
Ken Travis, Abigail’s Party
Darron L. West, Apparition
Darron L. West, The Seven

Four special awards will also be presented:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee

Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence

Outstanding Body of Work

No comments: