Monday, March 31, 2008

23rd annual Lucille Lortel Award Nominations

The 2007-08 Lortel Nominees are:

Outstanding Play

Written by George Packer
Produced by Culture Project

Written by David Harrower
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

The Brothers Size
Written by Tarell Alvin McCraney
Produced by The Public Theater, in association with The Foundry Theatre

New Jerusalem: The Interrogation of Baruch de Spinoza at Talmud Torah Congregation: Amsterdam, July 27, 1656
Written by David Ives
Produced by Classic Stage Company, by special arrangement with Bob Boyett

Written by Michael Hollinger
Produced by Primary Stages

Outstanding Musical

Adding Machine
Original Music by Joshua Schmidt, Libretto by Jason Loewith and Joshua Schmidt

Produced by Scott Morfee, Tom Wirtshafter, and Margaret Cotter

Next to Normal
Music by Tom Kitt, Book and Lyrics by Brian Yorkey
Produced by Second Stage Theatre

Passing Strange
Book and Lyrics by Stew, Music by Stew and Heidi Rodewald, Created in Collaboration with Annie Dorsen
Produced by The Public Theater, in association with Berkeley Repertory Theatre

The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Libretto and Drawings by Ben Katchor, Music by Mark Mulcahy
Produced by Vineyard Theatre

Wanda's World
Book by Eric H. Weinberger, Music and Lyrics by Beth Falcone, Story by Eric H. Weinberger and Beth Falcone
Produced by Amas Musical Theatre, in association with Terry Schnuck

Outstanding Solo Show

Beyond Glory
Written and Performed by Stephen Lang
Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company

Dai (enough)
Written and Performed by Iris Bahr
Produced by Bernie Kukoff, Jonathan Pollard, Jon Cutler in association with Highbrow Entertainment

Liberty City
Written by Jessica Blank and April Yvette Thompson
Performed by April Yvette Thompson
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Tings Dey Happen
Written by Dan Hoyle, Developed with Charlie Varon
Performed by Dan Hoyle
Produced by Culture Project

Outstanding Revival

Beckett Shorts
Written by Samuel Beckett
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Dividing the Estate
Written by Horton Foote
Produced by Primary Stages, in association with Jamie deRoy

The Misanthrope
Written by Molière, Translation by Tony Harrison
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Ohio State Murders
Written by Adrienne Kennedy
Produced by Theatre for a New Audience

Music by Stephen Flaherty, Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens, Book by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Co-Conceived by Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty, and Eric Idle, Based on the works of Dr. Seuss
Produced by Theatreworks USA

Outstanding Director

David Cromer, Adding Machine
Daniel Fish, Paradise Park
Elizabeth LeCompte, The Wooster Group's HAMLET
Bob McGrath, The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Terrence J. Nolen, Opus

Outstanding Choreographer

Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Seussical
Peter Pucci, Queens Boulevard (the musical)
Lynne Taylor-Corbett, Wanda's World

Outstanding Lead Actor

Jeff Daniels, Blackbird
André De Shields, Black Nativity
Joel Hatch, Adding Machine
Morlan Higgins, Exits and Entrances
Jeremy Strong, New Jerusalem: The Interrogation of Baruch de Spinoza at Talmud Torah Congregation: Amsterdam, July 27, 1656

Outstanding Lead Actress

Elizabeth Franz, The Piano Teacher
Lisa Gay Hamilton, Ohio State Murders
Jayne Houdyshell, The Receptionist
Alison Pill, Blackbird
Lynn Redgrave, Grace

Outstanding Featured Actor

Francis Jue, Yellow Face
David Margulies, The Accomplices
Brian Murray, Gaslight
Lorenzo Pisoni, Election Day
Aaron Tveit, Next to Normal

Outstanding Featured Actress

Veanne Cox, Paradise Park
Veanne Cox, Spain
Zoe Kazan, 100 Saints You Should Know
Amy Warren, Adding Machine
Mare Winningham, 10 Million Miles

Outstanding Scenic Design

Scott Bradley, Eurydice
Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg, The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Derek McLane, 10 Million Miles
Scott Pask, Blackbird
David Zinn, The Four of Us

Outstanding Costume Design

Mara Blumenfeld, The Glorious Ones
Michael Bottari & Ronald Case, and Jessica Jahn, Die Mommie Die!
Tracy Christensen, Seussical
Kristine Knanishu, Adding Machine
Jenny Mannis, The Drunken City

Outstanding Lighting Design

Kevin Adams, Passing Strange
Kevin Adams, Next to Normal
Russell H. Champa, Eurydice
Peter Mumford, Drunk Enough to Say I Love You?
Keith Parham, Adding Machine

Outstanding Sound Design

Geoff Abbas, Joby Emmons, and Matt Schloss, The Wooster Group's HAMLET
Daniel Baker, The Four of Us
Jorge Cousineau, Opus
Frank Gaeta, Dai (enough)
Darron L West, Dead Man's Cell Phone

Three special awards were anounced:

*The Edith Oliver Award will go to producer Theodore Mann.
*The Outstanding Body of Work Award will be presented to Primary Stages.
*The Unique Theatrical Experience Award goes to Horizon, produced by New York Theatre Workshop.

No comments: