Tuesday, May 20, 2008

2008 OBIE Awards

The 2008 OBIE Award Winners are:


  • Horton Foote, Dividing The Estate
  • David Henry Hwang, Yellow Face


  • Krzysztof Warlikowski, Krum
  • David Cromer, Adding Machine


  • LisaGay Hamilton, The Ohio State Murders
  • Kate Mulgrew, Iphigenia 2.0
  • Francis Jue, Yellow Face
  • Rebecca Wisocky, Amazons and Their Men
  • Joel Hatch, Adding Machine
  • Heidi Schreck, Drum Of The Waves Of Horikawa
  • Veanne Cox, Sustained Excellence of Performance
  • Sean McNall, Sustained Excellence of Performance

  • Ensemble, Passing Strange:
    (De'Adre Aziza, Daniel Breaker, Eisa Davis, Colman Domingo, Chad Goodridge, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Stew)


  • Takeshi Kata, Set - Keith Parham, Lighting Design, Adding Machine

  • Peter Ksander, Scenic Design
    Untitled Mars (This Title May Change)

  • Ben Katchor, Drawings; John Findlay & Jeff Sugg, Set & Projection
    Russell H. Champa, Lighting Design

    The Slug Bearers Of Kayrol Island

  • Jane Greenwood,
    Sustained Excellence of Costume Design

  • David Zinn,
    Sustained Excellence of Costume and Set Design

Special Citations

  • Nature Theater of Oklahoma, No Dice
  • David Greenspan, The Argument

Best New Theater Piece: $1,000

  • Stew, Heidi Rodewald, Annie Dorsen,
    Passing Strange

The Ross Wetzsteon Award $2,000

  • Cherry Lane Theatre Mentor Project

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Adrienne Kennedy

Obie Grants

  • Keen Company $5,000
  • Theater of a Two-Headed Calf $5,000

1 comment:

EJ Leonard said...

If anyone's interested in reading more in-depth coverage about the Obies, we got some great interviews at mybroadway.com

Check it out if you have time!