Saturday, April 04, 2009

2009 Lucille Lortel Award Nominations

Outstanding Play:
Animals Out of Paper; Second Stage Theatre, Producer; Rajiv Joseph, Playwright

Becky Shaw; Second Stage Theatre, Producer; Gina Gionfriddo, Playwright

Ruined; Manhattan Theatre Club and Goodman Theatre, Producer; Lynn Nottage, Playwright

The Good Negro; The Public Theater in association with Dallas Theater Center, Producers; Tracey Scott Wilson, Playwright

The Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928); New York Theatre Workshop and Elevator Repair Service, Producers; Text by William Faulkner, Created by Elevator Repair Service

Outstanding Musical:
Fela! A New Musical; Ruth and Stephen Hendel and Roy Gabay, Producers; Book by Jim Lewis and Bill T. Jones, Music and Lyrics by Fela Anikulapo Kuti, Add'l Music by Aaron Johnson and Jordan McLean, Add'l Lyrics by Jim Lewis.

My Vaudeville Man!; The York Theatre Company and Melanie Herman, Producers; Book by Jeff Hochhauser, Music by Bob Johnston, Lyrics by Bob Johnston and Jeff Hochhauser

Road Show; The Public Theater, Producer; Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by John Weidman

Saved; Playwrights Horizons in association with Elephant Eye Theatrical, Producers; Music and Lyrics by Michael Friedman, Book and Lyrics by John Dempsey and Rinne Groff

This Beautiful City; Vineyard Theatre, Producer; Composer and Lyricist Michael Friedman, Librettist Steve Cosson and Jim Lewis, Created by The Civilians

Outstanding Solo Show:
Humor Abuse; Manhattan Theatre Club, Producer; Created by Lorenzo Pisoni and Erica Schmidt, Performed by Lorenzo Pisoni

Sleepwalk With Me; Eli Gonda, Ryan Scott Warren, Marc Turtletaub, Peter Saraf, and Nathan Lane, Producers; Written and Performed by Mike Birbiglia

Outstanding Revival:
Enter Laughing, The Musical; The York Theatre Company, Producer; Book by Joseph Stein, Music and Lyrics by Stan Daniels, Based on the play Enter Laughing by Joseph Stein, from the novel by Carl Reiner.

Othello; Theatre for a New Audience, Producer; William Shakespeare, Playwright

Our Town; Scott Morfee, Jean Doumanian, Tom Wirtshafter, Ted Snowdon, Eagle Productions, Dena Hammerstein/Pam Pariseau, The Weinstein Company, Burnt Umber Productions, Producers; Thornton Wilder, Playwright

The Cripple of Inishmaan; Atlantic Theater Company and Druid Theatre Company, Producers; Martin McDonagh, Playwright

The Glass Cage; Mint Theater Company, Producer; J.B. Priestley, Playwright

Outstanding Director:
Arin Arbus, OthelloDavid Cromer, Our TownGarry Hynes, The Cripple of InishmaanKate Whoriskey, RuinedRobert Woodruff, Chair
Outstanding Choreographer:
Martha Clarke, Garden of Earthly DelightsBill T. Jones, Fela! A New MusicalJanet Miller, The Marvelous WonderettesLynne Taylor-Corbett and Shonn Wiley, My Vaudeville Man!Sergio Trujillo, Saved
Outstanding Lead Actor:
Ned Eisenberg, OthelloBrian d'Arcy James, Port AuthorityJosh Grisetti, Enter Laughing, The MusicalSahr Ngaujah, Fela! A New MusicalJohn Douglas Thompson, Othello
Outstanding Lead Actress:
Ellen Burstyn, The Little Flower of East OrangeSaidah Arrika Ekulona, RuinedCarmen M. Herlihy, crookedKellie Overbey, The Savannah DisputationAnnie Parisse, Becky Shaw
Outstanding Featured Actor:
Utkarsh Ambudkar, Animals Out of PaperFrancois Battiste, The Good NegroJohn McMartin, Saturn ReturnsAaron Monaghan, The Cripple of InishmaanThomas Sadoski, Becky Shaw
Outstanding Featured Actress:
Annika Boras, ChairKerry Condon, The Cripple of InishmaanLisa Emery, DistractedMamie Gummer, Uncle VanyaJuliet Rylance, Othello
Outstanding Scenic Design:
Beowulf Boritt, Animals Out of PaperMarina Draghici, Fela! A New MusicalRoger Hanna, The Glass CageJames Schuette, Wig Out!David Zinn, Chair
Outstanding Costume Design:
Marina Draghici, Fela! A New MusicalAnn Hould-Ward, Road ShowToni-Leslie James, Wig Out!Karen Perry, The First Breeze of SummerTheresa Squire, Rafta, Rafta…
Outstanding Lighting Design:
Christopher Akerlind, Garden of Earthly DelightsMark Barton, ChairLap Chi Chu, The Good NegroMarcus Doshi, OthelloJason Lyons, Mourning Becomes Electra
Outstanding Sound Design:
Quentin Chiappetta, Irena's VowJohn Gromada, Shipwrecked! An EntertainmentRobert Kaplowitz, Wig Out!Jane Shaw, The Widowing of Mrs. HolroydMatt Tierney, The Sound and the Fury (April Seventh, 1928)
Special Awards:
Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence:
Ira Weitzman

Outstanding Body of Work:
The Lark Play Development Center

For more information about the awards, you can visit

No comments: