Monday, May 20, 2013

The OBIES: 2013

The winners of the 58h Annual OBIE Awards were announced tonight at Webster Hall.

And the winners were:


Eisa Davis
Sustained Excellence

Brandon J. Dirden
The Piano Lesson (Signature Theatre)

Shuler Hensley
The Whale (Playwrights Horizons)

Matthew Maher
Sustained Excellence

Paul Thureen
Blood Play (The Debate Society/Bushwick Starr)


Ayad Akhtar
Disgraced (LCT3)

Annie Baker
The Flick (Playwrights Horizons)


Lear deBessonet
The Good Person Of Szechuan (Foundry Theatre/La MaMa)

John Rando
All In The Timing (Primary Stages)

Ruben Santiago-Hudson
The Piano Lesson (Signature Theatre)

Eric Ting
We Are Proud To Present A Presentation... (Soho Rep)


Laura Jellinek
Sustained excellence of Set Design

Clint Ramos
Sustained excellence of Costume Design

Special Citations

David Levine and Marsha Ginsberg
Habit (Crossing the Line Festival/FIAF & PS122)

Dave Malloy and Rachel Chavkin
Natasha, Pierre + The Great Comet of 1812 (Ars Nova)

Nature Theater of Oklahoma
Life and Times: Episodes 1-4 (Public Theater/SoRep)

David Byrne & Fatboy Slim
Here Lies Love (Public Theater)

The Ross Wetzsteon Award (with check for $1,000)
Clubbed Thumb


Fulcrum Theater ($1,000)

Half Straddle ($1,000)

Best New American Play (tie With $500 to each playwright) 
Lisa D’Amour, Detroit

Julia Jarcho, Grimly Handsome

Lifetime Achievement

Lois Smith

Frances Sternhagen

No comments: