Monday, May 15, 2006

The 2006 Village Voice Obie Winners Announced

...yawn, the OBIEs have TONY-envy...


S. Epatha Merkerson for her performance Birdie Blue
Ari Fliakos for his performance Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra
Scott Shepherd for his performance Poor Theater: A Series of Simulacra
Gary Wilmes for his performance Red Light Winter
Dana Ivey for her performance Mrs. Warren’s Profession
Christine Ebersole for her performance Grey Gardens
Euan Morton for his performance Measure for Pleasure
Lois Smith for her performance The Trip to Bountiful
Edwin Lee Gibson for his performance The Seven
Sherie Rene Scott for her performance Landscape of the Body
Julie White for her performance The Little Dog Laughed
Peter Francis James for his performance Stuff Happens
Byron Jennings for his performance Stuff Happens
Marin Ireland for her performance Cyclone
Michael Cumpsty for his performance Hamlet
Reed Birney Sustained Excellence of Performance
Meg MacCary for her performance What Then


Daniel Sullivan for his direction Stuff Happens
John Clancy for Sustained Excellence of Direction


Rolin Jones Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow
Martin McDonagh The Lieutenant Of Inishmore


Anita Yavich Sustained Excellence of Costume Design
Allen Moyer Sustained Excellence of Set Design
NTUSA Design of Abacus Black Strikes Now


Nikkole Salter
In the Continuum
Danai Gurira
In the Continuum
Robert O’Hara
In the Continuum
Adam Rapp
Red Light Winter
Jane Moss, Jon Nakagawa, Ricky Ian Gordon and Doug Varone
Orpheus and Euridyce
Hunter Bell, Jeff Bowen & Michael Berresse
[title of show]


Ross Wetzsteon Memorial Award- Soho Repertory Theater


Eric Bentley

Emerging Theater Grants:

Edge Theater Company ($3000)
Red Bull Theater ($3000)
Billie Holiday Theatre ($3000)

Emerging Playwright Grants:

Rinne Groff ($1000)
Neena Beber ($1000)

The Judges for this season were Lynn Nottage, Didi O’Connell, David Herskovits, Eduardo Machado, Marc Robinson, Voice, critics Michael Feingold, Alexis Soloski and Village Voice theater editor and Obie Chairman, Jorge Morales.

No comments: