Monday, March 31, 2008

23rd annual Lucille Lortel Award Nominations

The 2007-08 Lortel Nominees are:

Outstanding Play

Written by George Packer
Produced by Culture Project

Written by David Harrower
Produced by Manhattan Theatre Club

The Brothers Size
Written by Tarell Alvin McCraney
Produced by The Public Theater, in association with The Foundry Theatre

New Jerusalem: The Interrogation of Baruch de Spinoza at Talmud Torah Congregation: Amsterdam, July 27, 1656
Written by David Ives
Produced by Classic Stage Company, by special arrangement with Bob Boyett

Written by Michael Hollinger
Produced by Primary Stages

Outstanding Musical

Adding Machine
Original Music by Joshua Schmidt, Libretto by Jason Loewith and Joshua Schmidt

Produced by Scott Morfee, Tom Wirtshafter, and Margaret Cotter

Next to Normal
Music by Tom Kitt, Book and Lyrics by Brian Yorkey
Produced by Second Stage Theatre

Passing Strange
Book and Lyrics by Stew, Music by Stew and Heidi Rodewald, Created in Collaboration with Annie Dorsen
Produced by The Public Theater, in association with Berkeley Repertory Theatre

The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Libretto and Drawings by Ben Katchor, Music by Mark Mulcahy
Produced by Vineyard Theatre

Wanda's World
Book by Eric H. Weinberger, Music and Lyrics by Beth Falcone, Story by Eric H. Weinberger and Beth Falcone
Produced by Amas Musical Theatre, in association with Terry Schnuck

Outstanding Solo Show

Beyond Glory
Written and Performed by Stephen Lang
Produced by Roundabout Theatre Company

Dai (enough)
Written and Performed by Iris Bahr
Produced by Bernie Kukoff, Jonathan Pollard, Jon Cutler in association with Highbrow Entertainment

Liberty City
Written by Jessica Blank and April Yvette Thompson
Performed by April Yvette Thompson
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Tings Dey Happen
Written by Dan Hoyle, Developed with Charlie Varon
Performed by Dan Hoyle
Produced by Culture Project

Outstanding Revival

Beckett Shorts
Written by Samuel Beckett
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Dividing the Estate
Written by Horton Foote
Produced by Primary Stages, in association with Jamie deRoy

The Misanthrope
Written by Molière, Translation by Tony Harrison
Produced by New York Theatre Workshop

Ohio State Murders
Written by Adrienne Kennedy
Produced by Theatre for a New Audience

Music by Stephen Flaherty, Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens, Book by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, Co-Conceived by Lynn Ahrens, Stephen Flaherty, and Eric Idle, Based on the works of Dr. Seuss
Produced by Theatreworks USA

Outstanding Director

David Cromer, Adding Machine
Daniel Fish, Paradise Park
Elizabeth LeCompte, The Wooster Group's HAMLET
Bob McGrath, The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Terrence J. Nolen, Opus

Outstanding Choreographer

Marcia Milgrom Dodge, Seussical
Peter Pucci, Queens Boulevard (the musical)
Lynne Taylor-Corbett, Wanda's World

Outstanding Lead Actor

Jeff Daniels, Blackbird
André De Shields, Black Nativity
Joel Hatch, Adding Machine
Morlan Higgins, Exits and Entrances
Jeremy Strong, New Jerusalem: The Interrogation of Baruch de Spinoza at Talmud Torah Congregation: Amsterdam, July 27, 1656

Outstanding Lead Actress

Elizabeth Franz, The Piano Teacher
Lisa Gay Hamilton, Ohio State Murders
Jayne Houdyshell, The Receptionist
Alison Pill, Blackbird
Lynn Redgrave, Grace

Outstanding Featured Actor

Francis Jue, Yellow Face
David Margulies, The Accomplices
Brian Murray, Gaslight
Lorenzo Pisoni, Election Day
Aaron Tveit, Next to Normal

Outstanding Featured Actress

Veanne Cox, Paradise Park
Veanne Cox, Spain
Zoe Kazan, 100 Saints You Should Know
Amy Warren, Adding Machine
Mare Winningham, 10 Million Miles

Outstanding Scenic Design

Scott Bradley, Eurydice
Jim Findlay and Jeff Sugg, The Slug Bearers of Kayrol Island (or the Friends of Dr. Rushower)
Derek McLane, 10 Million Miles
Scott Pask, Blackbird
David Zinn, The Four of Us

Outstanding Costume Design

Mara Blumenfeld, The Glorious Ones
Michael Bottari & Ronald Case, and Jessica Jahn, Die Mommie Die!
Tracy Christensen, Seussical
Kristine Knanishu, Adding Machine
Jenny Mannis, The Drunken City

Outstanding Lighting Design

Kevin Adams, Passing Strange
Kevin Adams, Next to Normal
Russell H. Champa, Eurydice
Peter Mumford, Drunk Enough to Say I Love You?
Keith Parham, Adding Machine

Outstanding Sound Design

Geoff Abbas, Joby Emmons, and Matt Schloss, The Wooster Group's HAMLET
Daniel Baker, The Four of Us
Jorge Cousineau, Opus
Frank Gaeta, Dai (enough)
Darron L West, Dead Man's Cell Phone

Three special awards were anounced:

*The Edith Oliver Award will go to producer Theodore Mann.
*The Outstanding Body of Work Award will be presented to Primary Stages.
*The Unique Theatrical Experience Award goes to Horizon, produced by New York Theatre Workshop.

Monday, March 24, 2008

Upcoming @ PUBLIC LAB

With Kate Buddeke, Aysan Celik, Nina Hellman, Dan Lipton, Jeanine Serralles, Brian Sgambati, Jeremy Shamos, Emily Tepe, and Sam Breslin Wright

In 1871, working class Parisians overthrew the French government, declared Paris autonomous and launched an attempt to radically reinvent society. In this musical play, a versatile company of performers bring this explosive event to life. Since its founding in 2001 by Artistic Director Steven Cosson, the award-winning company The Civilians has created several original shows including the Off-Broadway hits (I Am) Nobody’s Lunch and Gone Missing.

Friday, April 4 - Sunday, April 20
Tuesday - Friday at 8pm
Saturday at 2 & 8pm
Sunday at 3 & 7pm
Unavailable performances: April 5 at 2, April 20 at 7

All Tickets: $10 - Click Here

APRIL 25 – MAY 11
Directed by JO BONNEY

With stories set in three different locations in the Middle East, Wallace’s muscular and poetic writing finds beauty in the grotesque and explores political tensions by grounding them in the human issues of love, life, and death. Internationally-acclaimed playwright Naomi Wallace is best known for her deeply political plays, including One Flea Spare (The Public Theater) and The Trestle at Pope Lick Creek, and is the recipient the MacArthur “Genius” Fellowship.

Friday, April 25 - Sunday, May 11
Tuesday - Friday at 8pm
Saturday at 2 & 8pm
Sunday at 2 & 7pm
Unavailable performances: March 8 at 2, March 9 at 7

All Tickets: $10 - Click Here

Monday, March 17, 2008


Congratulations to BASH'd: A Gay Rap Opera and The Beebo Brinker Chronicles for winning GLAAD MEDIA AWARDS tonight in the Off-Off Broadway and Off Broadway (& Broadway) categories respectively.

The Beebo Brinker Chronicles has already moved for an extended run at 37 Arts through April 27th. Click Here for tickets & Info.

Bash'd is rumored to be coming back to NY this summer.

Friday, March 14, 2008

Everett Quinton @ Coffeehouse Chronicles

Partner of Charles Ludlam and member of The Ridiculous Theatrical Company, Everett Quinton will talk with David Kaufman, author of the fabulous book on the company - Ridiculous!: The Theatrical Life and Times of Charles Ludlam. This talk is part of La Mama's invaluable Coffeehouse Chronicles and will take place on Saturday, March 15th at 3pm at the Cafe at La Mama. Admission is free, but in keeping with the La Mama tradition, the hat will be passed for donations. This is a don't miss!

For more info:

Thursday, March 13, 2008

Hot New Season Announcement: Playwright's Horizons

An early contender for the "hottest" subscription of the 2008-2009 Season may just be Playwrights Horizons. They have just announced new plays by four of my favorite playwrights: Craig Lucas, Adam Rapp, Theresa Rebeck and Nicky Silver.

Three Changes by Nicky Silver directed by Wilson Milam
Kindness written & directed by Adam Rapp
Prayer for My Enemy by Craig Lucas, directed by Bartlett Sher
Our House, described as a new scathing comedy about the media and reality TV, by Theresa Rebeck (no director announced)